Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

photo (1)I never did an August Favorites post, so these are my favorites from August as well as September. I’ve been loving a few new face products, eyeshadow, and skincare (which you can read about here).

I bought a few base products recently, and I love them all. I’ve been using the Laura Mercier Tinted Moisturizer on and off for a few years, but I finally picked up a new tube in the correct shade (porcelain). It’s sheer, glowy, and hydrating enough for everyday wear. I also got the Laura Mercier Silk Creme Foundation in Rose Ivory. When applied with a damp beautyblender, my skin looks flawless but not cakey. The Laura Mercier Mineral Pressed Powder is great too, because it leaves my skin luminous and matte, without emphasizing my dry skin. I’ve fallen back in love with the Stila One Step Correct foundation primer because it’s slightly moisturizing, controls oil, and brightens my skin. When paired with the tinted moisturizer and powder mentioned above, my makeup lasts all day.

I was obsessed with eyeshadow in August. I’m still loving my Nars eyeshadow palettes – Ride Up to the Moon for a warm-toned autumnal look, Fairy’s Kiss for purple smokey eyes, and And God Created the Woman (shown above) for both every day wear and nights out. The Loreal Infallible 24hr eyeshadows are incredible as well. I have Iced Latte (a shimmery champagne; beautiful for blending all over the lid and into the inner corners) and Bronzed Taupe (a shimmery taupe-brown; beautiful for blending all over the lid, into the crease, and onto the lower lashline). I have my eye on Endless Pearl and Continuous Cocoa, so expect to see those soon! To define my upper lashline without using harsh black liner, I’ve been loving the Sephora Smoky Creme Liner in Statue Bronze.

For lips, I’ve been loving a few fall colors as well as some old favorites. The Soap and Glory Sexy Mother Pucker Gloss Stick in Nudist is a glossy pinky-beige with gold shimmer. Basically, it’s one of those my-lips-but-better shades in glossy pencil form. I love red lipstick year-round, but I wear it more often in the fall and winter. All of my favorite reds are Nars Velvet Matte Lip Pencils. Damned (shown above) is my absolute favorite, followed by Dragon Girl, Mysterious Red (LE), and Cruella. My other favorite lipstick brand is Lipstick Queen, and I’ve been wearing Rose Sinner quite a bit. It’s a matte medium-toned rose shade that’s bold without being bright or red. I tend to wear it pressed into the lips like a stain. It’s not too drying and it lasts relatively well on me.

My favorite cheek product in August was the Kevyn Aucoin Sculpting Powder in Medium, which defines cheekbones with minimal effort. In September, I wore the Laura Mercier Second Skin Cheek Colour in Orange Blossom almost every day. It’s absolutely beautiful and I talk about it more here.

One of the few nail polishes I bought this summer was Orly Smolder. I was sad about missing out on Chanel Malice and scoured the web for something similar. I settled on Smolder, ordered it on amazon, and just now got around to wearing it. It’s a red shimmer that’s dark without being too vampy, and the shimmer has been distracting me all week.

Finally, the Botanics Facial Oil has been my skincare savior as of late. I talk about it with the rest of my skincare routine here, but this has made the biggest difference in my skin the last few months. It eliminated my dry patches and smoothed out my skin. I also like to apply a thin layer under my foundation primer before using fuller coverage foundations to keep my skin looking hydrated and flawless.

What beauty products have you been loving? Also, if you have any recommendations for bi-phase or waterproof eye makeup removers, please let me know!

Links above are not affiliate links.

