Tags

, , , , , , , ,

20130928-190138.jpgAs previously mentioned, I went a little skincare-crazy this summer. My skin is dry, dehydrated, and sensitive, with the occasional hormonal breakout. But at the moment, my skin is the best it has ever been: baby soft, with no dry patches or spots! I’ve been using most of these products for a while, so I thought it was about time I shared my skincare routine. I’ll be changing it up a bit as the weather gets colder, but I’ll get into that later.

My cleanser of choice is the Clinique Take the Day Off Cleansing Balm. It’s unscented, removes my makeup, and doesn’t leave a film on my skin. I massage a small amount onto dry skin and then remove it with a warm washcloth. I rub a bit into my eyelashes as well, to break down my waterproof mascara. I then remove my eye makeup and do a bit of a second cleanse with the Bioderma Sensibio H2O Micellar Solution.

Some people think toner is unnecessary, but Caroline Hirons suggests using an exfoliating toner followed by a hydrating toner. I sweep a bit of the Aveda Botanical Kinetics Exfoliant (which uses salicylic acid to remove dead skin and any dry flaky bits) all over my face on a cotton round, and then mist a bit of the Aveda Botanical Kinetics Toning Mist onto my face, to balance my skin and prep it for moisturizer.

When necessary, I use the smallest amount of La Roche Posay Effaclar Duo (the french version with salicylic acid, NOT the US version with benzoyl peroxide) on the sides of my chin to prevent spots.

To hydrate my dry skin, I use a few different products. I start with a pea sized amount of Indeed Labs Hydraluron (should be available at Duane Reade soon), and then massage a few drops of the Botanics Facial Oil into my skin. I tend to apply another layer of this after the first layer sinks in (for extra hydration). Then I’ll either use a bit of the Origins Drink Up Intensive hydrating mask or the La Roche Posay Toleriane Riche moisturizer.

What skincare products have you been loving? Please let me know in the comments below!

