Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Image

Winter has arrived in New York, and my skin is not happy about it. I have dry, dehydrated, eczema-prone skin, and these are the products I’ve been relying on to keep my skin clear, hydrated, and flake-free. For every-day, these products can be mixed and matched based on the needs of my skin, but I tend to do this entire routine on Sunday and Wednesday evenings as sort of a biweekly skincare treat. I’ve broken the steps into two sections; cleanse/treat, and hydrate.

I start by removing my makeup and cleansing my skin (of course). I remove eye makeup with the Sonia Kashuk Eye Makeup Remover and face makeup with Bioderma Sensibio H2O. Hydrating cleansers are my best friend, and I’ve been loving the REN Rosa Centifolia Cleansing Balm, the Burt’s Bees Sensitive Facial Cleanser (not pictured), and the Clinique Take the Day Off Cleansing Balm (not pictured). After cleansing, I use the First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Instant Oatmeal Mask, which makes my skin incredibly soft and smooth. For toner, I love Aveda products. The Aveda Botanical Kinetics Exfoliant is a great gentle chemical exfoliant, which uses salicylic acid to remove flaky bits and smooth the skin. I also use the Clarins Gentle Exfoliator Brightening Toner (not pictured) when I need a more powerful chemical exfoliant.

The Aveda Botanical Kinetics Toning Mist is my first step towards hydrated skin. However, If my skin is a bit spotty, I’ll use the Caudalie Beauty Elixir (not pictured) instead. Next, I apply the La Roche-Posay Effaclar Duo (the version made with Salicylic Acid, NOT Benzoyl Peroxide) to any spots. I then apply Hydraluron, a hyaluronic acid serum from Indeed Labs, to make the most of the moisturizing products I apply after. The Fresh Seaberry Moisturizing Facial Oil serves as my first layer of hydration. I follow that with a pea-sized amount of the Origins Drink Up Intensive mask or a bit of the Fresh Rose Face Mask (not pictured) to provide lasting hydration overnight. Finally, I apply a bit of the Embryolisse Rich Moisturizing Creme to further hydrate the skin and seal the moisture in.

The number of moisturizing products I put on my face might seem a bit excessive, but they really make a difference on my dry skin when layered this way. I wake up with plump, hydrated skin with no dry patches in sight, which is nearly miraculous for me.

How do you keep your skin hydrated in the winter? I’d love to know!